Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Twitter
We have recently reorganized the forums to better accommodate the location of information. If you find any discussions categorized incorrectly please let us know and we will get it sorted out.

Degradation of skills over time for yourself

edited January 2016 in Off-Topic Posts: 33
Has there been any discussion of this before?  I didn't see anything while searching.

My group and I are all about playing ourselves.  We all have questions regarding skills we've learned in the past but don't actively use today.  Take myself for instance.  I've got 6 years of military service.  I was an expert marksmen during my Air Force service.  But, this ended back in 2000.  When creating myself, would I actually take the Military Type or any other type that I've had experience with but no longer am currently doing?  Or is there a way to modify types for lack of use over time. 

The same question for skills, like my martial arts training.  I'm a Brown Belt (2nd Kyu) in Shotokan.  But I haven't been actively practicing for a few years now. 

Comments

Lonewolf,

There is no real set rule on degradation of skills over time. We often say that for a players to take a 'skill' in something, you need to appeal to your GM to determine if they actually have that set of skills that warrants your benefits.

My house rule for 'playing yourself as a character' is that if it has been LONGER then the actual time you spent DOING a job, then it can't be taken as a skill and instead can only be used for Gestalt purposes. For example your Military service of 6 years wouldn't allow you to be a 'military' type character, but you could still use those 6 years to improve skills that you may have excelled in (Increasing perception, that will inherently raise your RA instead of Marksmen for example).